Three incumbents fall as voters shake up CMS board

Three incumbents fall as voters shake up CMS board

Mecklenburg voters swept three incumbents from the county’s school board, returning only one — Thelma Byers-Bailey — for another term.

Gone from the next school board will be incumbents Rhonda Cheek (District 1), Carol Sawyer (District 4), and Sean Strain (District 6).

Byers-Bailey (District 2), will retain her seat after winning a tight, three-person race.

Eighteen candidates were vying for six district seats on the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. District 3 and District 5 were up for grabs as incumbents Ruby Jones and Margaret Marshall did not seek re-election. 

The school board’s three at-large seats — held by board chair Elyse Dashew, Jennifer De La Jara and Lenora Shipp — were not on the ballot this year.

School board races in Mecklenburg County are nonpartisan.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + ten =